Joy Macknight

The Banker’s awards are the most prestigious in the global banking industry and have been running since 2000.

The Bank of the Year Awards are now open for entry. Banks from around the world covet these long-standing and highly esteemed awards, which showcase their impressive achievements during the previous year.

The awards are presented by country – for example, in 2022 we presented award to banks in 136 countries – and we also present regional awards and our sustainability awards, banking in the community and financial inclusion. The highest accolade goes to the global winner who stands out among its peers on the international stage.

To enter, banks just need to submit an entry form – you can’t win unless you enter. It is free to enter and submissions are simple to make. We ask for basic financial data and for answers to three simple questions around strategic initiatives, technology, and new products and services. Each requires a short 500-word answer, making entering easy and straightforward.

New this year, banks will have the option to submit their completed entry forms via our secure awards platform. Visit to register an account and upload your entry documents. The deadline for entries is Friday, July 7.

The competing institutions will be judged on their ability to deliver strong financial performance and to gain strategic advantage, whether by using new technology or coming up with innovative, cost-efficient ways of expanding their businesses and increasing customer satisfaction.

The Banker’s awards are judged by a panel of editors, including regional and sector specialists. The key criteria are improvements made over the past 12 months, and both small and large banks compete on an even playing field. The reasons for winning are made clear in the write-ups in the December issue of The Banker.

All winners have the opportunity to attend a gala dinner in London on Thursday, November 30, to be recognised as the best in the international banking industry.

It is both a grand occasion and a great networking event. Winning The Banker’s Bank of the Year Awards is one way of making your bank stand out from the competition.

Each winning bank will also receive a Bracken trophy, named after Brendan Bracken, who founded The Banker in 1926. Many banks have a large collection of Brackens, as they celebrate their success each year.

Good luck to all the banks that enter.

Joy Macknight is editor of The Banker. Follow her on Twitter @joymacknight

Register to receive the Editor’s blog and in-depth coverage from the banking industry through the weekly e-newsletter.


All fields are mandatory

The Banker is a service from the Financial Times. The Financial Times Ltd takes your privacy seriously.

Choose how you want us to contact you.

Invites and Offers from The Banker

Receive exclusive personalised event invitations, carefully curated offers and promotions from The Banker

For more information about how we use your data, please refer to our privacy and cookie policies.

Terms and conditions

Top 1000 2023

Request a demonstration to The Banker Database

Join our community

The Banker on Twitter